Top Ten Shiksha Mantri / Education Ministers of India

Who is an Education Minister or Shiksha Mantri in Indian States of India?

An education minister is a working post in the govts. of few countries accountable for handling educational policies. India has no such role namely Education Minister as of now instead The Ministry of Human Resource Development MHRD, earlier shiksha mantiri is all responsible for the growth of human resources & education. MHRD is further parted into 2 more depts. namely Department of School Education and Literacy & Department of Higher Education since 26.9.1985. The Department of School Education & Literacy accounts for primary, secondary & hr. sec. studies, adult education and literacy while the Dept. of Higher Education manages the university education, technical education, scholarship and much more.


Aims of MHRD or shiksha mandiri

  • To formulate the National Educational Policy so as to make sure that it is materialized in draft and spirit
  • The planned development, comprising emerging path and enhancing the standard of the educational organizations across the nation, available in the regions where civics do not have simple way to education.
  • Giving additional attention to disadvantaged groups such as the poor, womens and the low caste groups.
  • Funding financial aid in the kind of scholarships, loan subsidy to needed students from deprived sections of the society.
  • Motivating foreign cooperation in the area of education comprising associating interactively with the UNESCO & overseas governments and Universities, to scale the educational chances in the country.

Following are the list of siksha mantri or education ministers in India until now

S.No. Name of Education Ministers Tenure Duration
1 Maulana Abul Kalam Azad 15th August 1947-22nd January 1958 10 Years, 5 Months
2 Dr. K. L. Shrimali(Minister of State) 22nd January 1958-31st August 1963 4 Years, 6 Months
3 Shri Humayun Kabir 1st September 1963-21st November 1963 3 Months
4 Shri. M. C. Chagla 21st November 1963-13th November 1966 2 Years, 1 Month
5 Shri. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 14th November 1966-13th March 1967 5 Months
6 Dr. Triguna Sen 16th March 1967-14th February 1969 1 Year, 5 Months
7 Dr. V. K. R. V. Rao 14th February 1969-18th March 1971 2 Years, 2 Months
8 Shri. Siddhartha Shankar Ray 18th March 1971-20th March 1972 1 Year
9 Prof. S. Nurul Hasan(as Minister of State) 24th March 1972-24th March 1977 5 Years
10 Prof. Pratap Chandra Chunder  26th March 1977-28th July 1979 2 Years, 4 Months
11 Dr. Karan Singh 30th July 1979-14th January 1980 6 Months
12 Shri. B. Shankaranand 14th January 1980-17th October 1980 10 Months
13 Shri. S.B. Chavan 17th October 1980-8th August 1981 11 Months
14 Smt. Sheila Kaul(as Minister of State) 10th August 1981-31st December 1984 3 Years, 8 Months
15 Shri. K. C. Pant 31st December 1984-25th September 1985 9 Months
16 Shri. P.V. Narasimha Rao 25th September 1985-25th June 1988, 3 Years, 4 Months +
25th December 1994-9th February 1995, 3 Months +
(As a Prime Minister) 17th January 1996-16th May 1996 5 Months
17 Shri. P.Shiv Shankar 25th June 1988-2ndDecember 1989 1 Year, 6 Months
18 Shri. V.P. Singh(as Prime Minister) 2nd December 1989-10th November 1990 1 Year
19 Shri. Rajmangal Pandey 21st November 1990-21st June 1991 8 Months
20 Shri. Arjun Singh 23rd June 1991-24th December 1994, 3 Years, 6 Months +
22nd May 2004-22nd May 2009 6 Years
21 Shri. Madhavrao Scindia 10th February 1995-17th January 1996 1 year
22 Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee (as Prime Minister) 16th May 1996-1st June 1996 1 Month
23 Shri. S.R. Bommai 5th June 1996-19th March 1998 1 Years, 9 Months
24 Dr. Murali Manohar Joshi 19th March 1998-21st May 2004 5 Years, 8 Months
25 Shri Kapil Sibal 22nd May 2009-28th October 2012 3 Years, 3 Months
26 Shri. M. M. Pallam Raju 29th October 2012-25th May 2014 2 Years, 3 Months
27 Smt. Smriti Irani 26th May 2014-5thJuly 2016 2 Years, 2 Months
28 Shri. Prakash Javdekar 5th July 2016 (evening)-Till Date 3 months-till date

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *